Error message

Deprecated function: array_key_exists(): Using array_key_exists() on objects is deprecated. Use isset() or property_exists() instead in uc_product_minmax_node_view() (line 353 of /home/schwei98/www/ref-500.ch/sites/all/modules/uc_product_minmax/uc_product_minmax.module).

St. Gallen

Places

Vadian Monument

The city of St. Gallen paid homage to Joachim von Watt, known as Vadian, with this monument in 1903. St. Gallen was not, however, the only place with such a monument. They were indeed quite popular and numerous at the time, maintaining the memory of people of prominence. The work was that of Solothurn-based sculptor Richard Kissling, who had already created the Alfred Escher Statue in Zurich. The dedication ceremony was scheduled to coincide with the Swiss national shooters’ festival (Schützenfest), a major event in the country. Many people were invited to attend – although only Reformed Christians.

Zum Goldapfel and Zum Tiefen Keller

Vadian was born in the house under the sign of the golden apple, Zum Goldapfel, in 1484, and would live there again after returning from Vienna. In 1522, he moved with his wife Martha and their daughter to the house next door, Zum Tiefen Keller. While the latter is still mostly intact, Vadian’s birthplace was taken down in the 18th century. The Hinterlauben neighborhood was an upscale area back in the time, and the affluent Von Watt family was able to afford to build a good number of houses there.

A number of squabbles among neighbors were recorded from Vadian’s time there. In 1544, for example, Vadian went to court to accuse his neighbor of breaking off pieces of the wall between their houses so that he could now listen in to everything that was said. The neighbor protested that he only broke off a piece of broken wall and wanted to replace it with a paneled wall. Vadian was not happy with this explanation and the court concurred. In the end, his neighbor had to build a new wall made of large bricks and ensure that nobody could hear through to the other side.

“Town House”

On one of the walls of St. Gallen’s Stadthaus or “Town House”, a reflection of St. Gallen’s flourishing textile industry, is a relief of a friend of Vadian, Johannes Kessler, who was a central figure in St. Gallen’s Reformation. He had a good understanding of the people and was able to interpret biblical texts for the wider public.

Until the Reformation, there had been two parts of an abbey at that location, a nuns’ hermitage and the Johanneskapelle Chapel. In 1589, the merchant Hans Schlumpf had them replaced by the Town House, constructed in a Renaissance style, and called “the big house” or the “tall house” due to its size. Its third name, “the half house”, refers to its unusual layout. Today it serves as the seat of the municipality, which contains and preserves the old town archives and the Vadian Collection with a library and manuscript collection.

St. Lawrence Church (St. Laurenzen Kirche)

This church was the most important site of the Reformation in St. Gallen. It was there that Holy Communion was conducted for the first time by the congregation at Easter 1527. Johannes Kessler, Vadian’s friend and kindred spirit, began to hold his well-received talks there beginning in 1525. He read and discussed the Bible together with those in attendance as a theologically educated layperson – and not as a consecrated priest. In his clear manner of speaking, he was able to win the town’s people over to the Reformation.

The church was also, however, the town’s gathering place where elections for the mayor were held. Vadian was elected mayor for the first time there in late 1525. And the town council introduced Reformation measures there as well, resolving in 1524 that the Bible was the highest authority. In 1525, the council had altars and imagery destroyed and an organ dismantled, which had been built only a few years before. Liturgical vestments and other items of the church were sold off for the benefit of the poor. St. Laurenzen is thus a symbol of the close connection between politics and religion in St. Gallen.

Abbey Church and District

Until the Reformation, the Abbey Church was the religious center for the town’s people in addition to St. Laurenzen, and was where they went to worship. They supported its expansion and renovation with foundations and sought aid and comfort from a miraculous image of the Virgin Mary in the church. There was a major iconoclasm incident in the church and other chapels of the Abbey District in 1529, however, in which altars were destroyed, sculptures hacked down, pictures cut in half, and the walls painted over in white.

After the First War of Kappel in 1529, Zurich and Glarus, as its protectors, sold the District to the town itself. St. Gallen was then the owner of the abbey archives and library. Following the Reformed defeat in the Second War of Kappel in 1531, the Catholic towns declared the sale for null and void, and the abbot would already return on March 1, 1532. Today’s Collegiate Church (Stiftskirche) of St. Gall and Otmar was built between 1755 and 1805, is considered a masterpiece of the late baroque period, and is now a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The abbey library is also world famous.

The Dividing Wall (Schiedmauer)

The history of St. Gallen is often viewed as a history of contrasts: between town and abbey, large and small, Catholic and Reformed. This is symbolized by the Schiedmauer, a wall built in 1566 to separate the town from the abbey. The two had however existed side by side for a long time before the wall was built, and the town emerged and grew as a settlement next to the abbey. The abbot granted St. Gallen its town privileges in 1291, and the two were mostly independent of each other by the mid-15th century.

Certain obligations did continue to apply, however, and only after decades, in 1566, was there an agreement on complete independence. The existing mutual obligations – e.g. providing the abbey with candles and communion hosts – were replaced by payments. It was then that the dividing wall was built along Gallusstrasse to Gallusplatz, which separated the two areas of authority. Only remnants of the massive original wall can still be seen today. Its original location is now marked by a knee-high little wall.

Charles’ Gate (Karlstor)

This is the only remaining historical town gate. The gate was built for the abbot, allowing him to reach his Catholic area of authority, which stretched from Lake Constance to Wil and into the Toggenburg region, without him having to venture into the Reformed town. The name Karlstor derives from the account that Cardinal Karl Borromäus (1538-1584), a significant representative of the Counterreformation, was the first to walk through the gate.

Jesus on the cross with Mary and John is depicted in a relief above the gate. To the right one can see the coat of arms of the Holy Roman Empire with the double eagle, which reflects that St. Gallen was an imperial abbey. The arms of Pope Pius IV Medici can be seen to the left. In the middle, below, is the coat of arms of Abbey Otmar II Kunz (1564-1577). To left is St. Gallus with the bear that helped him build his cell, according to legend. To the right is St. Otmar with a wine barrel, an allusion to the miracle of wine connected with the transportation of the saint’s relics across Lake Constance.

The Little Castle (Schlössli)

Affluent St. Gallen textile merchants often owned a castle-like residence in the countryside in addition to their town houses, thus imitating the aristocratic lifestyle. The rich Zollikofer textile family, however, built such a residence right in the middle of town, known as the Schlössli, or “little castle”. The building was constructed between 1586 and 1590 and is the grandest private home in the town. Vadian’s family was connected to the family through the marriage of his daughter and Laurenz Zollikofer, and the Schlössli was built by Vadian’s grandson.

Saint Catherine’s Convent (Kloster St. Katharinen)

Founded in 1228, Saint Catherine’s Convent was a Dominican convent until the Reformation, with numerous women from the town’s upper class, including Vadian’s sister Katharina. In the course of the Reformation, iconoclasts destroyed much of the convent, the nuns were harassed and forced to attend Reformed sermons. The convent would then slowly begin to come apart. The town finally purchased the convent in 1594 and used it for schools. Beginning in 1685, the church was used for French worship services for Huguenot refugees.

St. Mangen Church

The earliest St. Mangen Church was built at its location in 898 and is considered to be the town’s oldest church. The cemetery around the church replaced the earlier cemetery near the Gallus Abbey. The gravestones of clergymen of the past can be seen along the side. The services of the French church still held in the church today are reminiscent of the Huguenot religious refugees from France.

Tradition has it that the Alemannic aristocrat Wiborada had herself walled into a hermitage cell in 916. She was then only able to interact with the outside world through a small window, and was martyred in 926 during a Hungarian invasion. Wiborada would then become the first woman ever to be canonized. When the images and relics of St. Mangen Chucrh were destroyed during the Reformation in 1528, Wiborada’s remains were moved to an unknown location.

History

According to legend, St. Gallen was founded as a hermitage in the 7th century by Gallus, a monk and follower of St. Columban. This hermitage grew into one of Europe’s most influential monasteries in the High Middle Ages. By the early 16th century, some 4000 to 5000 people lived in the town, which would then emancipate itself from the abbey in the course of a long process. Political power now lay in the hands of the burghers, and Martin Luther’s ideas were able to find their way to eastern Switzerland.

Joachim von Watt, known as Vadian, was the main figure in the St. Gallen Reformation. He expounded on biblical texts both locally and in his correspondence with other clergy friends of his. Johannes Kessler (1502/3–1574) also played an important role in the spread of the Reformation. Kessler studied theology in Basel and Wittenberg and came to know Luther there. Kessler earned a living as a saddler, but gained renown for his Bible interpretations, discussing the Bible with the townspeople first in private rooms and later in the church as well.

It was, however, the town authorities that would eventually establish the Reformation in St. Gallen. The town council issued a decree in 1524 that made the Bible the highest authority; everyone was expected to be able to interpret the Bible themselves and were not forced to maintain the church’s interpretation. A Reformation commission, which included Vadian, examined whether sermons remained true to the Bible. The council also demanded that all preachers swear an oath of citizenship. Holy Communion was conducted for the first time in accordance with the Reformed tradition at the St. Lawrence Church during Easter 1527.

Soon only Reformed citizens lived in the town. In line with the principle of cuius regio eius religio (“Whose realm, his religion”), all subjects had to be of the same confession as their sovereign. French refugees of faith (Huguenots) also arrived in St. Gallen, who participated in the development of the cotton industry in St. Gallen and throughout eastern Switzerland.

Joachim von Watt, known as Vadian

Joachim von Watt was born to a wealthy family of politicians and fabric merchants in 1484. He was in Vienna as a student and completed his degree of Master of Arts in 1508. He became a medical doctor in 1517 and returned to St. Gallen in 1518. It was there that he embraced the Reformation, under the influence of his friend Ulrich Zwingli in Zurich. Vadian was a council member and mayor of St. Gallen for over 25 years in three-year terms, making every effort to support the Reformation through his office.

Vadian’s efforts sent the ruling abbot and monks into exile. Following the defeat of Reformed from Zurich in the

Second War of Kappel of 1531, the balance of power would however change and the abbey was restored as a seat of sovereignty. As a humanist, Vadian maintained an intensive correspondence with other scholars from throughout the German-speaking world, connected in part to the Reformation. While Vadian enjoyed great prestige as a reformer, as a diplomat he also intervened in a variety of political and religious conflicts. Vadian died in St. Gallen in 1551.

Johannes Kessler

With a humble upbringing in St. Gallen, Johannes Kessler spent his student years in Basel, where he heard Luther’s teachings, and later in Wittenberg as well. Once back in St. Gallen, Kessler learned the saddling trade, and would then hold biblical talks to his fellow saddlers. He also wrote his history of the Reformation, known as the Sabbata. Unlike other reformers, Kessler was generous and willing to allow others to hold other positions. After Vadian’s death, he took on part of his tasks and served the church in St. Gallen for another 20 years.

Fehlermeldung

Deprecated function: array_key_exists(): Using array_key_exists() on objects is deprecated. Use isset() or property_exists() instead in uc_product_minmax_node_view() (Zeile 353 von /home/schwei98/www/ref-500.ch/sites/all/modules/uc_product_minmax/uc_product_minmax.module).

St. Gallen

Orte

Vadiandenkmal

Die Stadt St. Gallen ehrte Joachim von Watt, genannt Vadian, 1904 mit diesem Denkmal. Damit stand St. Gallen nicht allein. Um 1900 hatten Denkmäler Hochkonjunktur. Mit zahlreichen Statuen sollte das Gedenken an hervorragende Personen gepflegt werden. Mit dem Bau des Denkmals wurde der Solothurner Bildhauer Richard Kissling betraut, der bereits in Zürich die Alfred Escher-Statue geschaffen hatte. Die Einweihungsfeier wurde publikumswirksam während des in St. Gallen stattfindenden Eidgenössischen Schützenfests abgehalten. Es waren viele Gäste geladen – jedoch nur reformierte.

Haus «Zum Goldapfel» und Haus «Zum Tiefen Keller»

Im Haus «Zum Goldapfel» kam Vadian 1484 zur Welt, nach seiner Rückkehr aus Wien wohnte er zunächst wieder dort, 1522 zog er mit seiner Frau Martha und der gemeinsamen Tochter ins benachbarte Haus «Zum Tiefen Keller». Während letzteres noch weitgehend im Originalzustand vorhanden ist, wurde Vadians Geburtshaus im 18. Jahrhundert abgebrochen. Das Quartier mit dem Namen Hinterlauben war damals eine begehrte, noble Wohnlage. Die überaus vermögende Familie von Watt konnte sich mehrere Häuser an bester Lage leisten.

Aus der Zeit, als Vadian hier wohnte, sind zahlreiche Nachbarschaftsstreitigkeiten überliefert. 1544 zum Beispiel klagte Vadian vor Gericht gegen seinen Nachbarn. Dieser hatte laut Vadian Teile einer Wand gegen sein Haus hin abgebrochen. Damit sei die Wand jetzt so dünn, dass der Nachbar alles mithören könne. Der Nachbar verteidigte sich, er habe nur eine kaputte Wand abgebrochen und wolle jetzt eine Täferwand anbringen. Vadian genügte dies nicht, und das Gericht teilte seine Bedenken. Der Nachbar musste eine Wand aus dicken Ziegelsteinen bauen, um der Hellhörigkeit ein Ende zu bereiten.

Stadthaus

An einer Mauer des Stadthauses, das von der Blüte der Textilindustrie in St. Gallen zeugt, hängt ein Relief des Freundes von Vadian, Johannes Kessler, einer Schlüsselperson der St. Galler Reformation. Er hatte ein gutes Gespür für die Menschen und konnte die Bibeltexte für die breite Bevölkerung verständlich auslegen.

Bis zur Reformation standen an der Stelle des Stadthauses die zum Kloster gehörende Johanneskapelle sowie eine Schwesternklause. 1589 liess der Kaufmann Hans Schlumpf an deren Stelle im Renaissance-Stil das Stadthaus errichten, das wegen seiner Dimensionen «das grosse Haus» oder das «hohe Haus» genannt wurde. Der dritte Name, «das halbe Haus», weist auf den ungewöhnlichen Grundriss hin. Heute ist es Sitz der Ortsbürgergemeinde, die das alte Stadtarchiv sowie die Vadianische Sammlung mit dessen Bibliothek und Handschriften besitzt und pflegt.

Kirche St. Laurenzen

Diese Kirche war der wichtigste Schauplatz der Reformation in St. Gallen. An Ostern 1527 wurde in der Kirche St. Laurenzen erstmals das Abendmahl durch die Gemeinde gefeiert. Seit 1525 hielt Johannes Kessler, der Freund und Gesinnungsgenosse Vadians, in der Kirche seine beliebten «Lesinen» ab. Dabei las und diskutierte er als theologisch geschulter Laie – und nicht als geweihter Pfarrer – gemeinsam mit der Bevölkerung die Bibel. Mit seiner klaren Sprache vermochte er die Stadtbevölkerung von der Reformation zu überzeugen.

Zugleich aber war St. Laurenzen Versammlungsort der Stadtgemeinde und der Ort von Bürgermeisterwahlen. Ende 1525 wurde Vadian hier zum ersten Mal zum Bürgermeister gewählt. Hier leitete der städtische Rat Massnahmen zur Reformation ein. 1524 beschloss er, dass die Bibel oberste Autorität sei. 1525 wurden auf Beschluss des Rates Altäre und Bildwerke zerstört und eine erst wenige Jahre zuvor gebaute Orgel abgebrochen. Messgewänder und kirchliche Geräte wurden zugunsten der Armen verkauft. St. Laurenzen ist damit ein Symbol für die enge Verbindung von Politik und Religion in St. Gallen.

Klosterkirche und Klosterbezirk

Bis zur Reformation war die Klosterkirche neben St.Laurenzen das religiöse Zentrum der Stadtbewohner gewesen; sie hatten dort auch den Gottesdienst besucht. Sie hatten deren Aus- und Umbau mit Stiftungen unterstützt und Hilfe und Trost bei der Mutter Gottes im Gatter – einem Gnadenbild in der Kirche – gesucht. Doch 1529 kam es in der Klosterkirche zum grossen Bildersturm. In der Kirche und in den übrigen Kapellen im Klosterbezirk wurden Altäre zerstört, Plastiken zerhauen, Bilder zersägt und die Wände weiss übermalt.

Nach dem 1. Kappelerkrieg 1529 verkauften Zürich und Glarus als Schirmorte über die Fürstabtei den Klosterbezirk an die Stadt. Damit wurde die Stadt auch Besitzerin von Klosterarchiv und -bibliothek. Nach der Niederlage der Reformierten im 2. Kappelerkrieg 1531 erklärten die katholischen Orte den Verkauf des Klosterbezirks für ungültig. Der Abt kehrte schon am 1. März 1532 zurück. Die heutige Stiftskirche St. Gallus und Otmar wurde zwischen 1755 und 1805 erbaut. Sie gilt als ein Meisterwerk des Spätbarocks und gehört zum Unesco-Weltkulturerbe. Weltberühmt ist auch die Stiftsbibliothek.

Schiedmauer

Die Geschichte St.Gallens wird oft als Geschichte von Gegensätzen erzählt: von Kloster und Stadt, von gross und klein, von katholisch und reformiert. Symbol dieser Gegensätze ist die so genannte Schiedmauer, welche nach 1566 Stadt und Kloster trennte. Zum Zeitpunkt des Mauerbaus hatten aber Stadt und Kloster schon lange miteinander existiert. Die Stadt war als Siedlung beim Kloster entstanden und gewachsen. 1291 hatte der Abt den Bürgern das Stadtrecht erteilt. Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts waren beide Staatswesen überwiegend selbständig.

Gewisse Verpflichtungen bestanden jedoch weiterhin. Erst einige Jahrzehnte nach der Reformation, 1566, wurde die vollständige Unabhängigkeit ausgehandelt. Bestehende gegenseitige Verpflichtungen – etwa die Pflicht zur Belieferung des Klosters mit Kerzen und Hostien – wurden durch Zahlungen abgelöst. Damals wurde entlang der Gallusstrasse bis zum Gallusplatz die Schiedmauer gebaut, welche die beiden Hoheitsgebiete voneinander abgrenzte. Heute sind nur noch Reste der hohen und wuchtigen Originalmauer sichtbar. Der ursprüngliche Verlauf wurde durch das heutige kniehohe Mäuerchen sichtbar gemacht.

Karlstor

Das Karlstor ist das einzige heute noch erhaltene historische Stadttor. Gebaut wurde es als Tor des Abtes: Es ermöglichte ihm, in sein katholisches Untertanengebiet zu gelangen, das sich vom Bodensee bis nach Wil und ins Toggenburg erstreckte, ohne den Boden der reformierten Stadt betreten zu müssen. Seinen Namen Karlstor erhielt es, weil Kardinal Karl Borromäus (1538-1584), ein bedeutender Vertreter der Gegenreformation, es angeblich als erster durchschritten hatte.

Im Relief über dem Tor sind oben den gekreuzigten Jesus mit Maria und Johannes dargestellt. Rechts davon befindet sich das Reichswappen mit dem Doppeladler; es drückt aus, dass St.Gallen ein Reichskloster war. Links davon ist das Wappen von Papst Pius IV. Medici abgebildet. Unten in der Mitte ist das Wappen von Abt Otmar II. Kunz (1564–1577) dargestellt. Links steht der Heilige Gallus mit dem Bär, der ihm gemäss Legende beim Bau seiner Zelle behilflich war. Rechts ist der Heilige Otmar mit einem Weinfass abgebildet, eine Anspielung auf das Weinwunder bei der Überführung der Reliquien des Heiligen über den Bodensee.

Schlössli

Wohlhabende St.Galler Textilhandelsleute besassen oft zusätzlich zu ihrem Haus in der Stadt auch einen schlossartigen Wohnsitz auf dem Land. Damit ahmten sie den Lebensstil des Adels nach. Mit dem sogenannten Schlössli bauten die Zollikofer, eine reiche St. Galler Textilhandelsfamilie, einen solchen «Adelssitz» mitten in der Stadt. Es wurde zwischen 1586 und 1590 erbaut und ist das herrschaftlichste Privathaus in der Stadt. Vadians Familie war durch die Heirat seiner Tochter und Laurenz Zollikofer mit der Besitzerfamilie verbunden; erbaut wurde das Schlössli von Vadians Enkel.

Kloster St. Katharinen

Die 1228 gegründete Frauengemeinschaft war bis zur Reformation ein Dominikanerinnenkloster, in das zahlreiche Frauen aus der Stadtsanktgaller Oberschicht eintraten – unter anderem auch Vadians Schwester Katharina. Im Zuge der Reformation wurde seine Einrichtung von Bilderstürmern zerstört. Die Schwestern wurden drangsaliert und zum Besuch der reformierten Predigt gezwungen. So löste sich der Konvent allmählich auf. Die Stadt erwarb das Kloster 1594 und richtete darin Schulen ein. Nach 1685 wurden in der Kirche französische Gottesdienste für die hugenottischen Flüchtlinge abgehalten.

Kirche St. Mangen

Die Kirche St. Mangen gilt als eine der ältesten Kirche der heutigen Stadt. Der die Kirche umgebende Friedhof löste nach der Reformation den früheren, beim Galluskloster gelegenen Friedhof ab. An der Seite sind die Grabsteine früherer Stadtpfarrer zu sehen. Die heute noch in St. Mangen durchgeführten Gottesdienste der Eglise française erinnern an die Glaubensflüchtlinge aus Frankreich (Hugenotten).

Die alemannische Adlige Wiborada liess sich 916 in einer Klause bei der Kirche St. Mangen einmauern, wie die Überlieferung berichtet. Nur durch ein kleines Fensterchen blieb die Inklusin mit der Aussenwelt in Kontakt und fand beim Ungarneinfall von 926 den Märtyrertod. 1047 wurde Wiborada als erste Frau überhaupt heiliggesprochen. Als während der Reformation 1528 die Bilder und Reliquien aus der Kirche St. Mangen zerstört wurden, wurden auch die Überreste der Wiborada an einen unbekannten Ort weggeschafft.

Historie

Gemäss der Legende wurde St. Gallen im 7. Jahrhundert durch Gallus, einen Mönch im Gefolge des Heiligen Columban, als Einsiedelei gegründet. Aus dieser Einsiedelei entwickelte sich im Hochmittelalter eines der einflussreichsten Klöster Europas. Zu Anfang des 16. Jahrhunderts lebten in der Stadt etwa 4000 bis 5000 Einwohner. In einem langen Prozess hatte sich die Stadt vom Kloster emanzipiert, die politische Macht lag in den Händen der Bürger. Nun fanden Martin Luthers Ideen auch den Weg in die Ostschweiz.

Zentrale Figur der Reformation in St. Gallen war Joachim von Watt, genannt Vadian. Er diskutierte vor Ort sowie in Briefen mit befreundeten Geistlichen biblische Texte. Eine wichtige Rolle für die Verbreitung der Reformation spielte aber auch Johannes Kessler (1502/3–1574). Er hatte in Basel und Wittenberg Theologie studiert und dabei auch Luther kennengelernt. Seinen Lebensunterhalt verdiente Kessler als Sattler; bekannt wurde er jedoch durch seine «Lesinen», seine Bibelauslegungen. Zuerst in Privaträumen und später auch in der Kirche diskutierte er die Bibel mit der Stadtbevölkerung.

Es war dann aber die städtische Obrigkeit, die in St. Gallen die Reformation umsetzte. 1524 erliess der städtische Rat das Gebot, dass die Bibel oberste Autorität sei; jeder soll die Bibel selbst auslegen können und nicht an die Interpretation der Kirche gebunden sein. Eine Reformationskommission, der auch Vadian angehörte, überprüfte die Bibeltreue der Predigten. Der Rat verlangte auch, dass alle Prediger den Bürgereid schworen. An Ostern 1527 wurde in der Kirche St. Laurenzen erstmals das Abendmahl nach reformiertem Brauch gefeiert.

Bald lebten in der Stadt nur noch reformierte Bürgerinnen und Bürger. Gemäss dem Grundsatz «Wessen Herrschaft dessen Religion» (cuius regio eius religio) mussten alle Untertanen derselben Konfession wie ihre Herrschaft angehören. Auch nach St. Gallen kamen französische Glaubensflüchtlinge (Hugenotten), welche sich an der Entwicklung der Baumwollindustrie in St. Gallen und der ganzen Ostschweiz beteiligten.

Joachim von Watt, genannt Vadian

Joachim von Watt wurde 1484 in eine wohlhabende Politiker- und Tuchhändler-Familie geboren. Er studierte in Wien, wo er 1508 als „Magister artium“ (Grundlagen-Wissenschaften) abschloss. 1517 war er Doktor der Medizin und kehrte 1518 nach St. Gallen zurück. Hier öffnete er sich, beeinflusst von seinem Zürcher Freund Ulrich Zwingli, für die Reformation. Er war Ratsherr und während über 25 Jahren im Dreijahresturnus Bürgermeister von St. Gallen. In diesem Amt förderte er die Reformation nach Kräften.

Vadians Wirken trieb den Fürstabt und die Mönche in die Flucht. Nach der Niederlage der reformierten Zürcher im 2. Kappeler Krieg 1531 verschoben sich aber die Machtverhältnisse und die Fürstabtei wurde wieder hergestellt. Als Humanist pflegte Vadian intensiven brieflichen Austausch mit anderen Gelehrten im ganzen deutschsprachigen Raum, unter anderem über die Reformation. Als Reformator genoss er weit herum hohes Ansehen. Als Diplomat griff er in verschiedene politische und religiöse Konflikte ein. 1551 starb Vadian in St. Gallen.

Johannes Kessler

Aus einfachen Verhältnissen stammend, studierte der St. Galler Johannes Kessler in Basel, wo er Luthers Lehren hörte, und darauf in Wittenberg. Zurück in der Heimatstadt lernte er das Sattlerhandwerk. Nebenher hielt er seinen Zunftgenossen biblische Vorträge, die er «Lesinen» nannte. Er verfasste auch eine Chronik der Reformation, die «Sabbata». Im Gegensatz zu anderen Reformatoren war er grossherzig und konnte auch andere Positionen stehen lassen. Nach dem Tod Vadians übernahm er einen Teil von dessen Aufgaben und diente der St. Galler Kirche noch rund 20 Jahre lang.