Error message

Deprecated function: array_key_exists(): Using array_key_exists() on objects is deprecated. Use isset() or property_exists() instead in uc_product_minmax_node_view() (line 353 of /home/schwei98/www/ref-500.ch/sites/all/modules/uc_product_minmax/uc_product_minmax.module).

Bern

Places

Bern Minster

The Bern Minster (Berner Münster) is a representative expression of the city’s wealthy piety and its self-conception. In 1405, a fire devastated large parts of the city. When it was time to rebuild, the desire for a worthy house of God was voiced. Because the city wanted to take church matters increasingly into its own hands, it both commissioned the construction of the Minster and provided the majority of funding. In 1484, it established a collegiate chapter whose clerics were reporting to the City Council. However, with the coming of the Reformation, the chapter was dissolved again in 1528.

The Bern Minster is the most distinguished architectural work of art in the Late Gothic style in Switzerland. Its size, the depth of the choir and the height of its towers give it a cathedral-like grandeur reflecting the city’s position of power. The tower sharply accentuates the cityscape. It rises above a tripartite narthex whose main portal is crowned by an artful depiction of Judgement Day. The sophisticated architecture and rich ornamentation testify to the builders’ consummate skills.

The Bern Reformation played out in and around the Minster. Here, Berchtold Haller served as a parish priest (Leutpriester) from 1520 and preached the Gospel. In 1528, the people of the city of Bern, summoned by the authorities, took an oath on the Reformation. To this day, all Bernese pastors are ordained at the Bern Minster.

Bern Minster, “Host Mill” Window

The choir houses six large stained glass windows in the Late Gothic style. The window to the left depicts the “Host Mill”: The words of the New Testament are ground in the mill, the end product being Christ. At the bottom of the picture, priests are distributing the “milled” Christ in the form of hosts (altar bread). The Reformers opposed the idea that people need the church as a go-between to come in contact with Christ; for them, Christ is the sole mediator between humans and God.

Bern Minster, Pulpit

Berchtold Haller became the parish priest of the Bern Minster in 1520. He was a friend of Zurich Reformer Huldrych Zwingli and preached in accordance with his ideas. In January of 1528, Zwingli himself preached from the pulpit of the Bern Minster.

Choir Court (Chorgericht)

The building south of the Minster square is from the 18th century; today, it houses the Department of Economic Affairs. In former times, the house of the Order of Teutonic Knights stood here; in 1485, the order was replaced by a chapter of canons.

After the Reformation, it was the convening place of the Choir Court (Chorgericht), which was in charge of handling matters of church, marriage and morals. In particular, it punished individuals violating the sanctity of Sunday by dancing or visiting pubs.

Minster Platform

In January 1528, after the Bern Disputation, paintings and statues representing the Catholic faith were removed in a violent iconoclasm. They were used as building material to raise the Minster Platform. In 1986, some remnants were found under the pavilion in the southwest corner and handed over to the Historical Museum of Bern.

The Anabaptists were adherents of a radical version of the Reformation and practiced a Christian faith lived voluntarily and not beholden to any authorities. They rejected infant baptism and refused the Confederate Oath, as well as military service. The state of Bern refused to tolerate this and violently persecuted the Anabaptists until the mid-18th century. Many of them were deported by force. On the Aare River below the Minster Platform, they were loaded onto ships that took them down the Rhine, where they lived out the remainder of their days on galleys.

Niklaus Manuel Commemorative Plaque

Niklaus Manuel (ca. 1484-1530) was a painter, poet, and politician and an important supporter of the Reformation. At the Bern Disputation between the supporters of the Reformation and those of the Catholic Church, he served as caller, giving the floor to speakers on behalf of the Council. Subsequently he was elected to the Small Council. Until his death, he campaigned for peace among the Confederates as a diplomat.

Kreuzgasse

In 1523, two Shrovetide plays by Niklaus Manuel were performed in Kreuzgasse. In those plays, he juxtaposed the pomp and power of the clerical church with the poverty of Christ and his followers. These Shrovetide plays significantly contributed to turning the mood in favor of the Reformation.

Town Hall

In Bern, the Reformation was introduced by the secular authorities on February 7, 1528, with a mandate based on the Bern Disputation. Old-faith critics accused Bern of meddling in questions of faith that were the province of the Bishop, the Council or the Pope. They were not exactly wrong. But the church itself was much too compromised to be able to make an independent decision. And without the blessing of the authorities, the Reformation would not have been possible.

French Church (Dominikanerkirche)

Death as the great leveler was a popular socio-critical motif in the Middle Ages. Thus, representations such as the danse macabre by Niklaus Manuel at the south wall of the Dominican monastery were frequently employed. In the rigidly hierarchical estate-based society (Ständegesellschaft), death served as a pressure valve for the people’s discontent about unequal treatment, as everyone is made equal by death. The Reformation’s criticism of the abuse of privileges and its emphasis on the equality of all Christians before God garnered much approval. Incidentally, Niklaus Manuel himself can be seen in the picture, next to Death himself, who is ending his work.

In 1623, the former Dominikanerkirche was given to the French-speaking community, which predominantly consisted of people from the Pays the Vaud. In the late 17th century, especially after the Edict of Nantes was repealed in 1685, Protestant Christians (Huguenots) were violently persecuted in France. Many refugees from France and the Piedmont region came to Bern. The Huguenots contributed a great deal to the economic upswing in their new places of residence, and also to the spread of French culture in all of Europe.

Casinoplatz

The Disputation convened by the Bern Council was held at Barfüsserkirche from January 6 to 26, 1528. The attending theologians were asked to judge the Reformation theses developed by Berchtold Haller. The sole basis was the Holy Scripture. The question: “Adopting the Reformation – Yay or Nay?” was answered in the affirmative.

However, the Reformation continued to be a bone of contention in the Bernese territory after 1528. Especially some inhabitants of the countryside hoped for a return to the Catholic faith. In January 1532, a synod of clerics met in Bern in order to settle the differences. The results were set down in the “Bern Synodus,” a theological document that settled the disputed questions in a spirit of peace. The Reformation theses decided on by the Disputation (the closing remarks), the Reformation mandate and the Synodus are still handed to every young pastor at ordainment.

The introduction of the Reformation also led to a reform in the field of education. Between 1528 and 1548, Bern established the “Hohe Schule” (“Upper School”) at the Barfüsserkloster (“Barefoot Monastery”) for the purpose of pastoral and public education. In addition to the subjects of philology and philosophy, the Bible was interpreted in the original languages of Hebrew and Greek.

Münstergasse No. 62

Bartholomeus May, who lived in this house, was an influential and wealthy merchant with a wide network of trade connections. As a member of the Small Council, he supported the Reformation. During the Disputation of 1528, Zwingli was a guest at his house.

Herrengasse No. 13

Wolfgang Musculus (Müslin) (1497-1563) was working as a Reformer in Strasbourg and Augsburg before he was called to the Hohe Schule in Bern as a professor in 1549. Musculus was one of the best theologians of his time. In Bern, he wrote biblical commentary, Latin translations of the Greek Church Fathers and dogmatic treatises.

History

Settlements in the region of contemporary Bern date back to the Neolithic Age. Celts, Romans and Alemanni all took their turns. But only in 1191 did Berchtold von Zähringen found the town of Bern in a loop of the Aare River. Not even three decades later, Bern was a free imperial city. Soon, Bern began to annex territories. In 1353, it forged an alliance with the Confederacy. In the Late Middle Ages, Bern was the most powerful city state north of the Alps.

From 1518 on, critical voices against the church grew louder. One significant influence were the Shrovetide plays of Niklaus Manuel. In 1520, Berchtold Haller was made parish priest (Leutpriester) at the Minster. He had always been a proponent of reforms; his friendship with Zwingli reinforced his beliefs in this respect. The Council scheduled a Disputation for January 6, 1528. For this occasion, Haller wrote ten theses as a basis for discussion. In the end, 250 theologians gathered, among them Zwingli and Oecolampadius of Basel.

After 20 days, the assembly clearly decided to adopt the Reformation. The decrees were summarized in the closing remarks. Shortly afterwards, the Council issued the Reformation Mandate, in which it bound the pastors to the Reformation. A rebellion in the Bernese Oberland region was suppressed with military force. After the defeat of Zurich and Zwingli’s death in the second War of Kappel in 1531, the situation grew unstable again; in 1532, a synod definitively reconfirmed the adoption of the Reformation.

Thus, the transition of Bern to the Reformation in the early 16th century decisively strengthened the movement in Switzerland. Now, Reformed Zurich was no longer isolated within the Confederacy. Bern secured the Reformation in the allied city of Geneva and thus significantly contributed to Calvin’s impact. At the same time, Bern also caused the Reformation to be adopted in the Pays de Vaud, Neuchâtel and parts of the Jura, Solothurn and Aargau. Even though the Reformation indubitably brought liberation to the people, for Bern, it was a political matter first and foremost.

One dark chapter is Bern’s treatment of the Anabaptists. From Zurich, this religious doctrine soon spread to the Bernese lands. The Council prohibited Anabaptism and enforced this decree with denunciation, banishment and the sword. By 1571, 26 Anabaptists had been executed, but countless others died in prisons, on the run or on the galleys. In the 18th century, many emigrated to the Jura, where they settled on the heights under the protection of the Prince-Bishop of Basel; German-speaking Anabaptist settlements exist there even today. The persecutions only ended with the downfall of the Ancien Régime in 1798.

Berchtold Haller

As a friend of Philipp Melanchthon, Luther’s closest confidant, Berchtold Haller of Weinsberg near Heilbronn (1492-1536) worked in Bern from 1513 on; in 1520, he was made parish priest of the Minster. He only started to take cautious steps toward the Reformation in 1522. However, he encountered vehement resistance by the keepers of the old faith. Disheartened, he wanted to leave Bern, but was encouraged by Zwingli: “Continue bravely to tame your wild bears little by little.”

Thus, in 1523, Haller followed Zwingli’s example in transitioning to the “Lectio Continua,” the continuing Scriptural interpretation, thus abandoning the official sermon ordinance. In 1525, he stopped reading Mass. In January 1528, the Bern Disputation took place, for which Haller, with the help of theologian Franz Kolb, had prepared ten theses as a basis for discussion. Zwingli also traveled to Bern to attend the Disputation and personally held a sermon from the Minster’s pulpit. The – not quite coincidental – result was the Bern Reformation Edict adopting the new religious doctrine.

After Zwingli’s death in the Second War of Kappel, the Reformation also took a hit in Bern. The Council summoned a synod, and Haller feared its outcome, especially since Zwingli’s successor Heinrich Bullinger wasn’t able to attend. However, support came in the person of the Strasbourg Reformer Wolfgang Capito. Together, they worked to create the Bern Synodus, the church constitution, which the synod accepted. After that, Haller was made Dean of the Bernese Church, and due to his connections with Geneva, he also became a go-between for the Reformation of Calvin and that of Zwingli.

Niklaus Manuel

Niklaus Manuel (1484 – 1530) was an illustrious personality. As a poet, he satirized the Catholic practices of his time, which immensely contributed to the breakthrough of the Reformation. Besides Hans Holbein the Younger, he was the most important Renaissance painter on Swiss soil. He also worked as a builder and as such was involved in the construction of the Minster. But he also went into service as a mercenary soldier for France. In 1510, he was elected to the Large Council, and to the Small Council in 1528.

Fehlermeldung

Deprecated function: array_key_exists(): Using array_key_exists() on objects is deprecated. Use isset() or property_exists() instead in uc_product_minmax_node_view() (Zeile 353 von /home/schwei98/www/ref-500.ch/sites/all/modules/uc_product_minmax/uc_product_minmax.module).

Bern

Orte

Berner Münster

Das Berner Münster ist ein repräsentativer Ausdruck der reichen Frömmigkeit der Stadt und deren Selbstverständnisses. 1405 vernichtete ein Brand grosse Teile der Stadt. Beim Wiederaufbau entstand der Wunsch nach einem würdigen Gotteshaus. Weil die Stadt kirchliche Angelegenheiten vermehrt in die eigenen Hände nehmen wollte, war sie auch Auftrag- und Haupt-Geldgeberin des Münsterbaus. 1484 gründete sie ein Kollegiatstift, dessen Geistliche dem Rat unterstellt waren. Mit der Reformation wurde dieses aber schon 1528 wieder abgeschafft.

Das Berner Münster ist das bedeutendste spätgotische Gesamtkunstwerk der Schweiz. Es trägt mit seiner Grösse, der Tiefe des Chors und der Höhe des Turmes kathedralhafte Züge, die auf die Macht der Stadt verweisen. So setzt der Turm einen klaren Akzent im Stadtbild. Er erhebt sich über einer dreiteiligen Vorhalle, deren Hauptportal von einer kunstvollen Darstellung des Jüngsten Gerichts gekrönt ist. Ausgeklügelte Architektur und reiche Verzierungen zeugen vom Können der Baumeister.

Die Berner Reformation spielte sich rund ums Münster ab. Hier amtete Berchtold Haller ab 1520 als Leutpriester und predigte das Evangelium. 1528 legten hier die Einwohner der Stadt Bern, aufgeboten von der Obrigkeit, den Eid auf die Reformation ab. Noch heute werden die Berner Pfarrerinnen und Pfarrer jeweils im Münster ordiniert.

Berner Münster, Hostienmühlenfenster

Im Chor sind grosse Fenster mit spätgotischen Glasmalereien zu sehen. Das Fenster links stellt die «Hostienmühle» dar: Die Worte des Neuen Testaments werden in der Mühle gemahlen, wobei unten Christus herauskommt. Unten im Bild verteilen Priester den «gemahlenen» Christus in Form von Hostien (Abendmahlsbrot). Die Reformatoren bekämpften die Auffassung, dass Menschen erst durch die Vermittlung der Kirche mit Christus in Berührung kommen; für sie ist Christus alleiniger Mittler zwischen Mensch und Gott.

Berner Münster, Kanzel

Berchtold Haller wurde 1520 Leutpriester am Berner Münster. Er war mit dem Zürcher Reformator Huldrych Zwingli befreundet und predigte im Sinne von dessen Ideen. Im Januar 1528 predigte Zwingli selbst auf der Kanzel des Berner Münsters.

Chorgericht

Das Gebäude südlich des Münsterplatzes stammt aus dem 18. Jahrhundert; heute ist darin die Volkswirtschaftsdirektion untergebracht. Früher stand hier das Deutschordenshaus; der Orden wurde 1485 vom Chorherrenstift abgelöst.

Nach der Reformation tagte hier das Chorgericht, das in Kirchen-, Ehe- und Sittenfragen zu richten hatte. Insbesondere ahndete es die Missachtung des Sonntags durch Tanzen oder Wirtshausbesuche.

Münsterplattform

Im Januar 1528, nach der Berner Disputation, wurden in einem Bildersturm Gemälde und Statuen, die Zeichen des katholischen Glaubens waren, gewaltsam beseitigt. Sie wurden als Material zum Aufschütten der Münsterplattform verwendet. 1986 konnte man unter dem Pavillon in der Südwestecke Überreste bergen und dem Historischen Museum Bern übergeben.

Die Täufer waren Anhänger einer radikalen Reform und eines freiwillig erlebten, von der Obrigkeit unabhängigen Christentums. Sie lehnten die Kindertaufe ab und verweigerten Eid und Kriegsdienst. Das wollte der Staat Bern nicht dulden, sie wurden deshalb in Bern bis Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts blutig verfolgt. Viele von ihnen wurden zwangsdeportiert. An der Aare unterhalb der Münsterplattform verlud man sie auf Schiffe, die sie rheinabwärts brachten, wo sie ihr Dasein auf den Galeeren fristeten und oft beendeten.

Gedenktafel Niklaus Manuel

Niklaus Manuel (um 1484-1530) war ein Maler, Dichter, Politiker und wichtiger Förderer der Reformation. Bei der Berner Disputation zwischen Anhängern der Reformation und jenen der katholischen Kirche wirkte er als Rufer, der im Namen des Rates das Wort erteilte. Anschliessend wurde er in den Kleinen Rat gewählt. Bis zu seinem Tod setzte er sich als Diplomat für den Frieden unter den Eidgenossen ein.

Kreuzgasse

1523 wurden in der Kreuzgasse zwei Fasnachtsspiele von Niklaus Manuel aufgeführt. Darin stellte er den Prunk und die Machtfülle der klerikalen Kirche der Armut Christi und seiner Nachfolger gegenüber. Die Fasnachtsspiele trugen viel zur Stimmung zugunsten der Reformation bei.

Rathaus

Die Reformation wurde in Bern am 7. Februar 1528 von der weltlichen Obrigkeit per Mandat eingeführt. Grundlage dafür war die Berner Disputation. Altgläubige Kritiker warfen Bern vor, dass es sich in Glaubensfragen einmische, für die der Bischof, das Konzil oder der Papst zuständig seien. Damit hatten sie zwar nicht ganz unrecht. Doch die Kirche war selber viel zu sehr kompromittiert, als dass sie eine unabhängige Entscheidung hätte treffen können. Und ohne obrigkeitlichen Segen wäre eine Reformation unmöglich gewesen.

Französische Kirche (Dominikanerkirche)

Der Tod als Gleichmacher war im Mittelalter ein beliebtes sozialkritisches Motiv. So waren Darstellungen wie der Totentanz von Niklaus Manuel an der Südmauer des Dominikanerklosters häufig. In der starren Ständehierarchie diente der Tod als Ventil für den Unmut in der Bevölkerung über die Ungleichbehandlung, denn im Tod sind die Menschen wieder gleich. Die Kritik am Missbrauch von Privilegien und die Betonung der Gleichheit aller Christen vor Gott trugen der Reformation viele Sympathien ein. Übrigens, auch Niklaus Manuel ist auf dem Bild zu sehen, neben dem Tod, der seiner Arbeit ein Ende setzt.

Die ehemalige Dominikanerkirche wurde 1623 der französischsprachigen Gemeinde überlassen, die vorwiegend aus Waadtländern bestand. Im späten 17. Jh., insbesondere nach der Aufhebung des Ediktes von Nantes 1685 wurden die Protestanten (Hugenotten) in Frankreich blutig verfolgt. Zahlreiche Flüchtlinge aus Frankreich und dem Piemont kamen nach Bern. Die Hugenotten trugen viel zum wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung an ihren neuen Wohnorten bei, aber auch zur Verbreitung der französischen Kultur in ganz Europa.

Casinoplatz

In der Barfüsserkirche tagte vom 6. bis 26. Januar 1528 die vom Berner Rat einberufene Disputation. Die anwesenden Theologen sollten die reformatorischen Thesen beurteilen, die Berchtold Haller aufgestellt hatte. Grundlage war allein die Heilige Schrift. Die Frage: «Einführung der Reformation – Ja oder Nein?» wurde bejaht.

Auch nach 1528 blieb die Reformation im Gebiet Berns umstritten. Vor allem Landbewohner hofften auf eine Rückkehr zum katholischen Glauben. Im Januar 1532 tagte in Bern eine Synode der Geistlichen, welche die Differenzen beilegen sollte.

Die Ergebnisse wurden im «Berner Synodus» festgehalten, einer theologischen Schrift, die in einem friedlichen Geist die strittigen Fragen regelte. Die beschlossenen Reformationsthesen der Disputation (die Schlussreden), das Reformationsmandat und der Synodus werden noch heute jedem jungen Pfarrer bei der Ordination ausgehändigt.

Die Einführung der Reformation führte auch zu einer Reform des Bildungswesens. Zwischen 1528 und 1548 richtete Bern zum Zweck pastoraler und öffentlicher Bildung im Barfüsserkloster die «Hohe Schule» ein. Neben Philologie und Philosophie wurde vor allem die Bibel in den Ursprachen Hebräisch und Griechisch ausgelegt.

Erker Münstergasse 62

Bartholomäus May, der in diesem Haus wohnte, war ein einflussreicher und wohlhabender Kaufmann mit weit verzweigten Handelsbeziehungen. Als Mitglied des Kleinen Rats unterstützte er die Reformation. Während der Disputation von 1528 war Zwingli Gast in seinem Haus.

Herrengasse 13

Wolfgang Musculus (Müslin) (11497-1563) war in Strassburg und Augsburg als Reformator tätig, bevor er 1549 als Professor an die Hohe Schule in Bern berufen wurde. Musculus war einer der besten Theologen seiner Zeit. In Bern verfasste er biblische Kommentare, lateinische Übersetzungen griechischer Kirchenväter sowie dogmatische Schriften.

Historie

Besiedelt war das Gebiet der heutigen Stadt Bern schon in der Jungsteinzeit. Kelten, Römer und Alemannen lösten einander ab. Doch erst 1191 gründete Berchtold von Zähringen in einer Aareschleife die Stadt Bern. Nicht einmal drei Jahrzehnte später war Bern bereits eine freie Reichsstadt. Bald begann Bern, sich Gebiete einzuverleiben. 1353 verbündete sich Bern mit den Eidgenossen. Im Spätmittelalter war Bern der mächtigste Stadtstaat nördlich der Alpen.

Ab 1518 mehrten sich die kritischen Stimmen gegenüber der Kirche. Grossen Einfluss hatten Niklaus Manuels Fasnachtsspiele. 1520 wurde Berchtold Haller Leutpriester am Münster. Er war von jeher ein Befürworter von Reformen, die Freundschaft mit Zwingli bestärkte ihn darin. Der Rat setzte eine Disputation auf den 6. Januar 1528 an. Haller verfasste dazu zehn Thesen als Diskussionsgrundlage. Schliesslich fanden sich 250 Theologen ein, unter ihnen auch Zwingli und Oekolampad aus Basel.

Nach 20 Tagen entschied sich die Versammlung deutlich für die Reformation. Die Entscheide wurden in den Schlussreden zusammengefasst. Wenig später erliess der Rat das Reformationsmandat, mit dem er die Pfarrer auf die Reformation verpflichtete. Einen Aufstand im Oberland schlugen die Berner militärisch nieder. Nach der Niederlage der Zürcher und dem Tod Zwinglis im 2. Kappeler Krieg 1531 kam es noch einmal zu Unsicherheiten; eine Synode sprach sich 1532 endgültig für die Reformation aus.

So stärkte der Übergang Berns zur Reformation Anfang des 16. Jahrhunderts die Bewegung in der Schweiz entscheidend. Das reformierte Zürich war nun innerhalb der Eidgenossenschaft nicht mehr isoliert. Bern sicherte die Reformation in der verbündeten Stadt Genf und trug somit wesentlich zur Wirkung Calvins bei. Zugleich bewirkte Bern auch die Reformation in der Waadt, in Neuenburg sowie in Teilen des Juras, Solothurns und des Aargaus. Auch wenn die Reformation für die Menschen unbestritten eine Befreiung war, war sie für Bern doch in erster Linie eine politische Angelegenheit.

Ein düsteres Kapitel ist der Umgang Berns mit den Täufern. Von Zürich aus hielt diese Lehre bald auch Einzug im Bernbiet. Der Rat verbot das Täufertum und setzte das Verbot mittels Denunziation, Verbannung und Schwert durch. Bis 1571 wurden 26 Täufer hingerichtet, doch unzählige starben in Gefängnissen, auf der Flucht oder auf den Galeeren. Im 18. Jh. wanderten viele in den Jura aus, wo sie unter dem Schutz des Fürstbischofs von Basel auf den Höhen siedelten; noch heute existieren dort deutschsprachige Täufersiedlungen. Die Verfolgungen endeten erst mit dem Untergang des Ancien Régime 1798.

Berchtold Haller

Als Freund von Philipp Melanchthon, des engsten Vertrauten Luthers, wirkte Berchtold Haller von Weinsberg bei Heilbronn (1492 – 1536) ab 1513 in Bern, ab 1520 war er Leutpriester am Münster. Er brauchte jedoch bis 1522, um erste zaghafte Versuche einer Reform zu unternehmen. Dabei stiess er aber auf heftigen Widerstand der Altgläubigen. Entmutigt wollte er sich aus Bern zurückziehen, wurde aber von Zwingli ermutigt: «Fahre nur mutig fort, deine wilden Bären allmählich zu zähmen.»

Also ging Haller 1523 nach dem Vorbild Zwinglis zur «Lectio continua», zur fortlaufenden Schriftauslegung über, bei der er sich nicht mehr an die Predigtordnung hielt. 1525 hörte er auf, die Messe zu lesen. Im Januar 1528 fand die Berner Disputation statt, für welche Haller mit Hilfe des Theologen Franz Kolb zehn Thesen verfasste, welche dann diskutiert wurden. Anlässlich der Disputation reiste auch Zwingli nach Bern und predigte selber auf der Kanzel des Münsters. Das – nicht ganz zufällige – Resultat war das Berner Reformationsedikt, welches die neue Lehre in Bern festschrieb.

Nach Zwinglis Tod im 2. Kappeler Krieg 1531 geriet die Reformation auch in Bern ins Schlingern. Der Rat berief eine Synode ein und Haller fürchtete um den Ausgang, zumal Zwinglis Nachfolger Heinrich Bullinger nicht dabei sein konnte. Da erhielt er Unterstützung des Strassburger Reformators Wolfgang Capito. Gemeinsam erarbeiteten sie den Berner Synodus, die Kirchenordnung, den die Synode dann annahm. Danach wurde Haller Dekan (oberster Leiter) der Berner Kirche und durch seine Kontakte nach Genf auch ein Mittler zwischen der Reformation von Calvin und derjenigen von Zwingli.

Niklaus Manuel

Niklaus Manuel (1484 – 1530) war eine illustre Persönlichkeit. Als Dichter nahm er die katholische Praxis seiner Zeit aufs Korn, womit er viel zum Durchbruch der Reformation beitrug. Er war neben Hans Holbein d.J. der bedeutendste Maler der Renaissance auf Schweizer Boden. Auch als Baumeister war er tätig und wirkte am Bau des Münsters mit. Doch er verdingte sich auch als Söldner zu Gunsten Frankreichs. 1510 wurde er in den Grossen Rat, 1528 in den Kleinen Rat gewählt.